Default splashtext!

The 7c Languages

The LANGDEV Project began circa with the very specific intent of building a set of etymologically-independent language for use with a story project, codenamed 7c. In total, three language families were produced from this initial effort. These language families, described below, are now considered non-canonical by the LANGDEV Project, but were used as the basis for Classical Sevensi, currently in development.

The language families included within the 7c languages are:

The names of Eho and Lrex are derived from geographic regions in the 7c world: Lrex is an abbreviated kingdom name, Eho is a shortening of E. Hope (referring to the Hopèän continent). Similarly, the use of as an abbreviation for Eho and of as an abbreviation for Jastulae derives from 7c symbology.

In , the Jastugay language was developed as a revised version of Jastulae with formally designed grammars and a syllabic writing system. Due to shortcomings in the original design of the language (in particular, a lack of diversity in the existing lexis), it was abandoned temporarily in . Then, in , all three 7c languages (including the Jastugay revisions) were combined into a single Proto–Jastu-Sevensi language, from which Sevensi development began proper.

The most complete descriptions of the 7c languages can be found by following the links provided above. Links to scans of the original handwritten source documents are provided as part of each dictionary's source description. These dictionaries are provided as TEI+XSLT documents as a means of allowing both straightforward readability and sophisticated processing; these technologies should be supported to an acceptable extent in most modern browsers.